ITS BLITZ!

Seriously, what am I doing? Reviewing all these “indie” bands? Who gives a shit. It’s Karen O. and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. When Show Your Bones was released, it was a big fucking deal. With It’s Blitz! being released March 31st, 2009, it has even more hype following it. But let’s be honest…..what’s the deal with the exclamation mark at the end? Who do they think they are, Panic! At the Disco? Even PATD dropped the exclamation mark to look more “mature”. Anyways, on to the music itself.

I personally think that it’s the best YYYs album to date. On their past albums, there have always been tracks that bugged the shit out of me, and I just didn’t think they were that great. There aren’t any of those on this album, but of course there are favourites, and not-so-favourites. I think it’s because they’ve strayed away from the “I’m Karen O, I’m unique and different, so my music should be like that too, even if it sounds like shit!”, and conformed a bit to what the general population listens to these days.

That being said, I think this is a good album, but only because I’m in love with a few specific tracks. (Sorry Calvin, I guess that means it’s not worthy of a purchase). No matter what, you have to respect Karen O’s unique and talented voice, even if the background noise is a bit odd. That’s why I much prefer the acoustic versions of Soft Shock, Skeletons, and Hysteric especially. Find them. Download them. Trust me. So what if it’s a bit pussy….those will be the next Maps of this year. None of the tracks really have that super catchy drum beat of Gold Lion either. I guess on past YYYs albums, there’s always been a diamond in the rough, but on this album, it’s like they’ve settled for mediocrity. But don’t listen to what I have to say, listen to it yourself and judge it. (Kevin, you may now begin to enlighten us with your all-knowing wisdom now)

1. Zero
2. Heads Will Roll
3. Soft Shock
4. Skeletons

5. Dull Life
6. Shame and Fortune
7. Runaway
8. Dragon Queen
9. Hysteric
10. Little Shadow