My classes start at either 8am or 9am. My alarm is set for 6:15am or 7:15am. That doesn’t leave too much time for what is supposedly the most important meal of the day. I leave the house with at least a glass of orange juice in the system, but I rarely have a solid breakfast.

Standard American fare. According to Wikipedia, breakfast is the first meal of the day.

Standard American fare. According to Wikipedia, breakfast is the first meal of the day.

Good thing the internet is full of ideas..

The Simple Dollar, via Lifehacker, has come up with a solution to my specific problem. Bulk Breakfast Burritos! I love burritos, I love breakfast (and lunch and dinner), and I love food in bulk.

A grocery list that costs around $26 is all that is needed to make 32 breakfast burritos. Which is 72 pennies per burr. The idea is to make them all, wrap each one tightly in Saran wrap, then dump them all into the freezer. Then in the morning, a few minutes in the microwave is all that is needed to defrost and warm up an A+ burrito. A simple plan (oh no), but it seems highly effective.

Here is their proposed grocery list:

Three dozen tortillas – $8.85 ($2.95 per dozen)
Two dozen eggs – $4.40 ($2.20 per dozen)
Four cans of black beans – $6.00 ($1.50 per can)
Saran wrap – $3.95
Jar of salsa – $2.95
Total cost – $26.15 ($0.72 per burrito)

When I try this, I’m going to go easy on the beans (having beans for breakfast may not be showing the best foresight), up the egg count, and add in ham. Still should be pretty cheap. The eggs are cooked first in a pot. Once they are almost ready, mix all your beans/vegetables/meat in until the eggs are cooked. Then put about three tablespoons of this mash onto each tortilla. Spread in the salsa, and whatever else you want in it (cheese, spices, meat). Then fold it up (The Simple Dollar has pictures on how to fold, for those who have leaky burritos), wrap it in Saran wrap and do the next one.

Trent at The Simple Dollar is cheap. I like his style.

Trent at The Simple Dollar is cheap. I like his style.

I’m going to try this experiment, maybe this weekend. No more 10am hunger flashes. No more weaksauce granola bars, single slices of toast, or $1.50 bagels at Tim Horton’s.

Sure, breakfast sandwiches can be purchased at your favourite convenient fast food location for around $3. But this is way sweeter.

Heyyy Burrito, hey hey hey Burrito

The Simple Dollar